Home > Arduino > Arduino Temperature Sensor/Logger

Arduino Temperature Sensor/Logger

April 26, 2009

I’ve always wanted a temperature logger for my computer. After some reading I found a pretty easy solution for added temperature sensing to an Arduino project. After building the circuit I programmed a quick and dirty serial data logger application in VB2008.

I added a 10k pot to try calibrating the sensor but always had a discrepancy between it and my desk thermometer. I’m going to look into geting another thermometer to see which one is lying. You can see the circuit, software and a sample plot of the temperatures overnight in my computer room below.

Heat testing the temperature sensor with the mini.

Heat testing the temperature sensor with the mini. Damn little thing wouldn't blow enough heat, even with F@H running!

 

A quick and dirty serial port data logging program.

A quick and dirty serial port data logging program.

 

The temperature in the computer room from bedtime to wake-up.

The temperature in the computer room from bedtime to wake-up. The next version of code will add some averaging of the samples to improve accuracy.

Categories: Arduino
